Dark Day

One of the bedrooms at Kyambura Lodge.

One of the bedrooms at Kyambura Lodge.

While I was in Rwanda I got the news that Ross Langdon was killed in the Nairobi shootings, along with his girlfriend Elif. I didn’t know Ross as well as a lot of people in Kampala did, but he was one of the first people I met here and would always take the time to meet me for a coffee or a beer when he was around.

I had the good fortune to visit Kyambura Lodge with him to take pictures, and even last Sunday, the same day as I heard the bad news, I had been telling somebody about that trip. It left a lasting impression on me to see a person so absorbed in the process of his work, so focused on the little details while at the same time being the mind behind such grand things. He was a great and good man, and I will miss him a lot.

Here he is talking about one of his many passions, sustainable architecture.

About Muzungu

I’m a Uganda-based freelance photographer (and occasional writer) working for a broad range of clients including NGOs, newspapers and magazines and development agencies. My work has taken me across East Africa, South America and Europe, and previous clients include USAID, the World Bank and the East African. I also work on personal documentary projects in my spare time. If you’d like to hire me or to know more, please feel free to get in touch.
This entry was posted in Snaps. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dark Day

  1. Very sorry indeed to hear about Ross. What a huge loss for us all. Thank you for sharing this lovely video with us. I will pass it on too.

    May he rest in peace.

    With love
    xxxxx

  2. quichel says:

    An inspiring man! Thanks Will for bringing this vid to light.

  3. Anna H says:

    what a wonderful talk. i’m going to share it with my husband who has similar views on childhood and a love of corrugated iron.
    the world needs more Ross Langdons, not fewer.

Leave a Reply

