Alien Fruit II

Six years and two months ago I was in Lima, aged 18 and enjoying the tail end of a very good gap year. I posted on my blog (which was called Eloquencias, despite being nothing of the sort) something about a fruit I had bought which resembled, now that I’ve seen more exotic fruit, a passion fruit of epic proportions. However the other day while I was working in Queen Elizabeth National Park I found something which truly was alien. I asked everybody its name and only one old man was able to give me an answer, a string of Runyankole words which nobody could translate. It reminded me of the scene in Lost in Translation when the creative director is giving long instructions to Bill Murray in Japanese, which the translator relays as “He says, more intensity!”.

In situ

Pre-surgery

The Gubbins

About Muzungu

I’m a Uganda-based freelance photographer (and occasional writer) working for a broad range of clients including NGOs, newspapers and magazines and development agencies. My work has taken me across East Africa, South America and Europe, and previous clients include USAID, the World Bank and the East African. I also work on personal documentary projects in my spare time. If you’d like to hire me or to know more, please feel free to get in touch.
This entry was posted in Photography, Snaps, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Alien Fruit II

  1. Bob says:

    So, regardless of what it’s called, what does it taste like?

  2. great details in that photo

  3. do you have a flickr account? – gabriel roybal

Leave a Reply

