11/11/11

Today is Remembrance Day, which reminded me that these images had remained in my archive unseen. I shot these first two while working on a documentary project about the life of a politician, and as they didn’t fit with the project they fell, as so many do, into obscurity.

Soldiers wait amongst the columns of Sheffield Town Hall before the commencement of the Remembrance Sunday service in Barkers Pool, Sheffield.

A child puts his arm round his father's neck during the Remembrance Sunday service at Barkers Pool in Sheffield as rain gently falls.

The third image comes from Paris, where I was working on a project about tension in public spaces.

At the memorial to the Algerian war on the banks of the Seine in Paris, a soldier sits watching the names of the dead move along the three pillars.

The First World War produced some of the most powerful literature in history (‘Goodbye To All That’ by Robert Graves springs to mind). Here is part of the Ode of Remembrance from Laurence Binyon’s For the Fallen:

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning,
We will remember them.

About Muzungu

I’m a Uganda-based freelance photographer (and occasional writer) working for a broad range of clients including NGOs, newspapers and magazines and development agencies. My work has taken me across East Africa, South America and Europe, and previous clients include USAID, the World Bank and the East African. I also work on personal documentary projects in my spare time. If you’d like to hire me or to know more, please feel free to get in touch.
This entry was posted in Photography, Snaps and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 11/11/11

  1. Amazing photos — so glad I happened to your blog today! Beautiful images & poetry to take me through the day. (I lived in Uganda & Kenya a long time ago, and your (other) photos bring back many memories.)

  2. These are tantalising images for what is not shown. Each one leaves the viewer “hanging”, if I can put it that way.

Leave a Reply

