An Avalanche of Blur

I got some films processed recently from my little Leica IIIb, a 73-year old camera which still works very well, and which I haul out whenever I’m tired of lugging a giant Nikon around with me. Some are good, some are bad, but it all looks like the Hipstamatic of the 1930s.

(PS Hover over images for captions because I messed up the formatting.)

About Muzungu

I’m a Uganda-based freelance photographer (and occasional writer) working for a broad range of clients including NGOs, newspapers and magazines and development agencies. My work has taken me across East Africa, South America and Europe, and previous clients include USAID, the World Bank and the East African. I also work on personal documentary projects in my spare time. If you’d like to hire me or to know more, please feel free to get in touch.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Avalanche of Blur

  1. munira says:

    Can’t tell you how much I enjoyed these photos.

    • Muzungu says:

      This comment makes me very happy. It’s one thing to enjoy taking pictures, it’s quite another to have other people say they enjoy looking at them. Thanks so much.

  2. Julian Reid says:

    Hi there,
    Great photos… really beautiful!
    I particularly liked the “late night drinking” and “coffee machine” photos.
    I’ve just bought a Leica IIIb and am really looking forward to using it.
    Could you tell me what sort of films you’ve found work best with it?
    Thanks!

    • Muzungu says:

      Hi Julian, great to hear from you! I tend to put in whatever film I have handy at the time (currently a Kodak something-or-other 200 I think) but depending on where you are (I’m based in Uganda so film choice is heavily limited) I would recommend using Ilford HP5 (pushes very well up to 3200, handy for sneaky shooting, which the IIIb does very well) or Kodak Portra NC for nice understated colour work.

      Basically anything will work, but the most important thing is to trim the leader of the film. You should cut 10cms of the start of the film into a narrow leader (a sort of extended version of what the normal start of a film looks like), otherwise the film won’t get taken up by the camera. If you want any more info or a better explanation please let me know. My contact details are on here or on my website. Happy shooting!

      Will

Leave a Reply

