The Finest Feeling

There are times when everything in front of the lens lines up as you wish it will. It’s a powerful sensation, hovering your finger over the shutter release in the glorious knowledge that you guessed correctly. I felt it two days ago, when Tim Roth was in Kino Kijow. He was making an imprint of his hands for the Krakow walk of fame, and the press scrum was impossible. The other day I shot a similar shot of Amitabh Bachchan (whose blog is smashing, by the way) on his knees in front of the press, a none-too subtle comment on a few different things. But this time I chose to put myself behind Roth partly because the scrum was comedically fierce. There had already been minor fisticuffs between two snappers (during a speech, most embarrassing), and I had no intention of getting involved in that guff. I also had a feeling that there was something missing from the coverage of these shows in Kijow, because it’s a huge venue and all the shots show solitary figures on an expansive stage and none show the adoring audience, their faces soft-lit by the giant cinema screen. So come the moment, I scooted behind and lined up my shot.

And there it was. The projector and the spotlight hazing, the flowers around the plaque into which Mr. Roth was placing his hands glowing, and all around the press pack, cameras stapled to faces. Photography takes a wide range of skills, but the one thing which I still struggle with is how to predict the future. But then, there, that one time, I think I managed to grab the bugger. Thoughts?

Tim Roth waits for the moulding to set around his hands as he leaves his prints for the Krakow walk of fame. Kino Kijow, Krakow, Off Plus Camera Film Festival 2011.

About Muzungu

I’m a Uganda-based freelance photographer (and occasional writer) working for a broad range of clients including NGOs, newspapers and magazines and development agencies. My work has taken me across East Africa, South America and Europe, and previous clients include USAID, the World Bank and the East African. I also work on personal documentary projects in my spare time. If you’d like to hire me or to know more, please feel free to get in touch.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Finest Feeling

  1. petesmama says:

    It looks like a happy face with Tim Roth as the nose/tongue, some very yellowy teeth and the photographers’ heads as zits or cheeks! 🙂

    In the absence of anything intelligent to say, the flowers look brilliant and I like Tim Roth. Also, I never realised just how many people turn up for stuff like this! You always get a pic of the star and the walk but never the masses.

    But what is the naked-looking blue and gold statue thing by his right elbow?

    • Muzungu says:

      Thank you! The statue is the ‘Against the Current’ award, given to him in recognition of his work in independent cinema. Did you ever print that Amuru shot?

  2. Josè Pascal says:

    Interesting blog. Great photos!

Leave a Reply

