Up to the North, Down to the South

I haven’t had much time to take pictures recently, which is a strange position to be in as a photographer. We were caught up with the exhibitions, which have been a roaring success. The images are now on display in the national museum of Uganda (near Kamwokya junction) for the next month and I highly recommend dropping in not just to see our stuff but also to check out the incredible artwork being installed at the moment by an artist whose name I failed to catch. It’s a colossal piece and stronger in some areas than others, but the pangas/machetes, bullets and porcupine quills it incorporates drag you in from looking at the whole to examine every last detail.
We went to Gulu for a meeting on Wednesday and I was so pleased to get one last visit before I go (I’m flying to the UK this Weds, coming back in February). The rains have missed Gulu for the past couple of weeks and the air is full of talcum-fine dust dispersing from the receding mud wallows of the rainy season. After spending so long in Kampala the laid-back calm of Gulu town was a brief respite.
As we sped along the road towards Karuma the sun sank lower and finally as we reached the falls the sky was tinged with red, a glorious last vision of the north. It’s an incredible place and so full of potential, and I can’t wait to return. This project put me in the privileged position of being able to spend time with the people who know these forgotten places best, and I hope the pictures told that.

I’ve spent the last two days in Jinja, shooting for the Busoga Trust again. Brilliant fun, challenging but interesting and rushes will be up in a bit.

About Muzungu

I’m a Uganda-based freelance photographer (and occasional writer) working for a broad range of clients including NGOs, newspapers and magazines and development agencies. My work has taken me across East Africa, South America and Europe, and previous clients include USAID, the World Bank and the East African. I also work on personal documentary projects in my spare time. If you’d like to hire me or to know more, please feel free to get in touch.
This entry was posted in Snaps, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

