Pink Chicks and Fried Grasshoppers

Occasionally life takes odd turns and you just have to be accepting of it.

Some clown dyed these chicks pink. No, I don't know why or how.

Today, while having lunch, somebody approached Anna and I, offering fried grasshoppers for sale. We were both erming and aahing about how to politely decline, when he offered free tasters. You have to admire his confidence in his product, and he was right! They were delicious, oily and oniony. My only criticism, which I suppose is more a criticism of grasshoppers than the chef’s skills, is that for quite a while afterwards you have to dig bits of exoskeleton out of your teeth. Most unpleasant.

About Muzungu

I’m a Uganda-based freelance photographer (and occasional writer) working for a broad range of clients including NGOs, newspapers and magazines and development agencies. My work has taken me across East Africa, South America and Europe, and previous clients include USAID, the World Bank and the East African. I also work on personal documentary projects in my spare time. If you’d like to hire me or to know more, please feel free to get in touch.
This entry was posted in Photography, Snaps, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pink Chicks and Fried Grasshoppers

  1. Heart says:

    Ewww, thank God I saw this after my Sunday dinner.. 🙂 Thanks for the visuals in picture and in thoughts, Will 😉

  2. Barney says:

    Hey, he’s not a clown! The chicks are dyed to confuse kites who cannot swoop down on purple chicks. The dyeing is done using gentian violet (Gv) ointment. But it’s not long before the kites see through the trick.
    As for grasshopper, have you tried ants? They have a similar taste…

  3. Simon says:

    Hey Will, nice to follow your journey. I had heard of grasshoppers but these pink chicks really surprised me! Compliments to the breeder… Take care

  4. Simon says:

    Je suis à Toulouse pour une formation… Je regarde tes photos régulièrement! Bonne continuation dans ton travail.

    PS: Si tu arrives à ramener un poussin rose en Angleterre, tu feras encore plus fort que le coup du lézard! 😉

Leave a Reply

