Matooke And Future Plans

Tomorrow I depart early for Kampala, where I will be meeting a friend and travelling to South Sudan to witness the secession, and the birth of South Sudan as an independent nation. This means the blog may fall a little quiet, but don’t worry. I will be back soon, and with plenty of stuff to post. In the meantime, depending on internet access, I will likely be all over Twitter like a fungus, so if you want to read annoyingly short updates from me please head over to http://twitter.com/#!/willboasephoto. Otherwise keep an eye on the blog and I will update it as circumstances allow.

I will leave you with a picture from the weekend, when I wasn’t working but I had my camera knocking around anyway:

A girl peeling matooke bananas in one of Jinja's many alleyways. Matooke, a solid savory cake of mashed, boiled and steamed banana, is one of Southern and Western Uganda's staple foods. I used to loathe it, but it won me over eventually.

About Muzungu

I’m a Uganda-based freelance photographer (and occasional writer) working for a broad range of clients including NGOs, newspapers and magazines and development agencies. My work has taken me across East Africa, South America and Europe, and previous clients include USAID, the World Bank and the East African. I also work on personal documentary projects in my spare time. If you’d like to hire me or to know more, please feel free to get in touch.
This entry was posted in Photography, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Matooke And Future Plans

  1. munira says:

    So now you’re a mlandizi!! :D

  2. Matooke will always win you over. I tried so hard to resist it but after about 3 months, I could hardly imagine a meal without it. Safe travels in Sudan!

Leave a Reply

