Inside the Slabbing Plant, Nowa Huta, Krakow.

During my Nowa Huta project (one day I’ll explain what that was all about, but at the moment all I can say is that it looks like it’s going to be exhibited soon) I went to the Nowa Huta steelworks in Krakow. This giant site, which I’ve already mentioned in my post about the Festiwal Muzyki Filmowej, is now owned and operated by ArcelorMittal, who very kindly let me go and photograph the slabbing plant for research. I quite liked some of the shots I got out, but haven’t had time to post them until now. So this is what the inside of a Soviet-built slabbing plant looks like, if you’re interested.

A worker puts his feet up while regulating the flow of molten steel which has come from the furnace and is now being shaped into a slab.

Safety first. That steel is quite warm.

It's not until I looked at this again that I realised I must have set 'Vignette' to lightspeed.

Workers having their ciggy break disturbed.

A workman, viewed from the gantry.

Glowing steel rolling through jets of water to cool it down.

Glowing slabs sliding out towards the crane which will put them on a train.

Crane

A crane lifts 30 tons of steel to be dropped onto a stack on the train waiting behind.

The view inside the slabbing plant.

About Muzungu

I’m a Uganda-based freelance photographer (and occasional writer) working for a broad range of clients including NGOs, newspapers and magazines and development agencies. My work has taken me across East Africa, South America and Europe, and previous clients include USAID, the World Bank and the East African. I also work on personal documentary projects in my spare time. If you’d like to hire me or to know more, please feel free to get in touch.
This entry was posted in Photography, Snaps, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

