Update- Nothing Happening

The rainy season is in full swing, bringing with it the delicious coolness, the incredible moist putrescence and the droves of mosquitoes. I’m trying to put together 2,000 images into a coherent 24-page booklet and it’s sending me a little odd, which is why I haven’t been writing on this blog. I will be back and normal on Sunday (and will at that point refuse to shut the hell up about my campervan, which is waiting for me in the south), but until then here is some silliness.

"I thought they'd all be out the back, drinking cider and discussing the price of pigs."

Mooning baby goat and alarmed baby goat.

A strange snack from the roadside near Otuke. Potato I think, delicious I know.

Gaddafi diversifies.

The real Bananaman.

Boys showing off their "spoke"- a machine made using a ballpoint pen, a bicycle spoke, a piece of wood, a sliver of wood and the heads of some matches. When assembled correctly the spoke can be pulled back and released, igniting the match heads and causing a satisfying bang.

A brick stack. Wood will be stuck into the holes at the base and lit, cooking the bricks until they're done. Brick ovens are a great sign of the north's recovery.

One of the brick-makers showing his strength. I dropped that pot on my foot, it's surprisingly heavy.

The Kitgum donkeys make a welcome reappearance. They are apparently fugitives from an agricultural school.

About Muzungu

I’m a Uganda-based freelance photographer (and occasional writer) working for a broad range of clients including NGOs, newspapers and magazines and development agencies. My work has taken me across East Africa, South America and Europe, and previous clients include USAID, the World Bank and the East African. I also work on personal documentary projects in my spare time. If you’d like to hire me or to know more, please feel free to get in touch.
This entry was posted in Photography, Snaps, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Update- Nothing Happening

  1. B M says:

    Why did you drop the pot on your foot? How were you able to lift it in the first place? :-)

  2. HB says:

    Didn’t know that there are donkeys in Uganda haha

  3. Raymond says:

    It’s called bagiya, the roadside snack. Now that I’ve seen it, am craving it. Only, it’s 4Am in the morning and there’s no where I’ll get it.

Leave a Reply

